This is about as Safe for Work as it’s gonna get, kids.

This is absolutely one of my favorite figures (my standard reprieve). Getting her, however, proved challenging, but she was a “first” in several respects that enabled me to move forward as a figure collector. Like so many of my non-bishoujo purchases, I was locked in by this review of Eleanor on that old standby, Tentacle Armada. It was love at first sight, but a few problems instantly presented themselves: Eleanor is completely topless. That bikini top isn’t castoffable; it’s just an accessory in her hand. She’s also extremely well-endowed—unrealistically well-endowed? Probably, although the internet never ceases to amaze me. The topless aspect certainly didn’t bother me, but I figured my wife might take issue with it. The other challenge was that Eleanor didn’t have an American distributor, so my options were limited to the internet. I had successfully purchased Tamaki from Amazon on sale, and had considered online again for Kobobukiya’s “Venus on the Beach” Kasumi, who I found in town by luck alone, and then with Yamato’s wonderful Velvet from Odin Sphere, who I ordered through a local comic shop because Velvet DID get an American distributor. Eleanor, however, would be harder to come by.

Lots to see here: boobs, face, hair, the weird armband seam.

Because I never buy anything online if I can help it, and I wasn’t familiar with import sites (I’m still not), my options were self-limited to Amazon or eBay. Eleanor wasn’t available on Amazon, and she proved to be ridiculously expensive on eBay. So I put her out of my mind for a few months. After a good amount of time, I was puttering around on eBay and typed her name in on a lark. One seller had a price of $100. I immediately dropped the hammer, and as an added bonus, shipping was like $12—freaking unheard of for deliveries to Alaska. She arrived sooner than expected, too, which was great.

There aren’t really any good beaches in Alaska, so we opted for the backyard.

Eleanor arrived in a pretty pink box with a big window in front and a black strip covering her naughty bits, which is understandable. She breaks into three parts—Eleanor herself, the base, and that bikini top accessory, which is surprisingly tricky to get into her hand. In case you’re curious, there’s an alternate color scheme for Eleanor—a black bikini—but I like this pink one. I proudly presented Eleanor to my wife, who asked if I was going to display her sans top all the time, the thinking being that her bikini top must be able to cover up her dirty pillows at the user’s option. I sheepishly admitted that, in fact, Eleanor was built to show off her assets. There was some eye-rolling but no objection. I think it helps that Eleanor kind of looks like my wife.

Yup. Seems about right.

But you know what I didn’t like? The name “Eleanor.” I also wasn’t thrilled that she stars in a hentai (called “Honey Blonde”), so I put both of these facts promptly out of my mind and renamed her “Chestly LaRue.” If any readers out there can pinpoint that reference (without using the internet), you win the no-prize. But I didn’t really like calling her “Chesty,” either, so I settled on “Mercy,” a play on her last name. Good enough, right? To my mind, Mercy is just a fun-lovin’ girl at a topless beach, flaunting what her momma gave her. And there is nothing wrong with that!

Mercy just looks so damn pleasant.

Mercy is in a relaxed, upbeat pose. I’m particularly impressed with sculpting of her fingers, which are interlocked above her head. She has a happy expression, head cocked to one side, bangs fluttering in the wind. Her eyes are big and nicely detailed. While her face is simplistic (a near-absent nose, for instance), it’s expressive and effective. I’m particularly fond of Mercy’s freckles, but I don’t know why. I guess they add a dash of color to her face. The big blue eyes are nicely drawn and give her a carefree attitude.

Love those clasping digits, and the nail polish is an excellent touch.

Her upper arms are decorated by silver-colored bands, and I can only imagine those are being utilized to cover up the seams where her arm pieces attach to her body piece. I certainly don’t mind them. The neck is simplistic, but her clavicles are visible and angle upward realistically toward her raised shoulders. Her deltoids have been sculpted along the line from her shoulders to the outside of her breasts, which is nice. Similarly, her back musculature is virtually nonexistent, but there is a line down her back following her spine.

Aside from the glaring reflections of Sol, you can get a better look at that armband here, and how the arm itself clearly sockets into the body mold.

I guess I should stop dancing around the issue and talk about Mercy’s most visually arresting features: her breasts. Like most of my figures, Mercy is spectacularly well-endowed in the baby-feeding department. Like Tamaki, her dirty pillows look absolutely unwieldy from the side, redefining the term “torpedo breasts” made so famous by Playmate Cynthia Myers. They must have superhuman structural support, and Chesty’s back muscles must be seriously buff in keeping her from falling forward. From the front, however, her melons look more reasonable—still large, but without the “tipping point,” as it were. Despite their size, Mercy’s breasts are not the basketball-shaped orbs so often glued to a character’s torso, but they have a clear origin point, slope down, and have a natural tilted J-shape that’s diagnostic of large human mammaries.

The bikini top is actually easy to remove, but kind of a pain to re-insert between Mercy’s fingers.

Moving down past her considerable assets, it’s worth noting that Mercy has a relatively elongate, slim torso. Happily, she retains a considerable hourglass figure as she’s quite hippy. Her small bikini bottom is joined in front and back by gold rings. These ties are not offset from the figure itself and are actually worked into the main sculpt, which is kind of distracting up close. Mercy has a lovely, largish backside, and her low-riding bikini bottom shows it off quite nicely. Her gluts bow out beyond her coccyx and flow up toward the iliac crests of her pelvis. Her bikini bottom is creased as it would be, being pulled tight and all across dat ass. The front of the bikini bottom is simpler, but the muscular definition of her pelvic structure and abs are appreciably noticeable. One thing that’s interesting to see, from the back, is that Mercy’s breasts are not just torpedoes, but sidewinders as well—a personal favorite “type” of mine.

Impressive gluts, nice indent up the spine.

Mercy’s got long legs with slightly bent knees, and well-detailed feet that peg into her simplistic base. If anything, I wish her base was a little more detailed, more sand-textured like Kokoro’s. She is, assumedly, on a beach, after all. I’m not a fan of bases with logos and words plastered over them. The only downsides of Mercy are the seam lines along her sides (only visible up close) and the minor mismatch between her body sculpt and the ends of her arms where they clearly slot into the armbands. Again, only an issue if you’re looking right at them. You’re otherwise distracted by her gigantic breasts. Mercy is about 1/7th-scale and stands about 9.5 inches tall (measured from the desk to the angle of her wrist). An excellent size: she fits in very well with my other figures. I seem to have settled into a 1/7th-scale comfort zone. In fact, I’ve all but sworn off smaller figures as I feel like there’s a point of diminishing returns in terms of cost vs. detailing.

See how boring that base is? What gives? Nice detail on her feet, though. Mercy’s got very small, lady-like feet.

She was a good catch, and I was lucky to get Mercy so cheaply on the secondary market. A quick Amazon search pulls up $150 for her black bikini and $200 for her original pink bikini. This could’ve gone all sorts of wrong for me–the eBay purchase, the toplessness, but it went okay, and I’m more than happy with the results. By the way, the blog IS still alive. I’ve been in and out of the hospital since last we spoke, but everything seems to be in the clear now. I just have to deal with a long-term PICCline as I’m still fighting a respiratory infection. But fear not: I’ve still been able to collect figures, and I will be reviewing them. Right here, in fact!

Back to the good stuff, though: here are a few more glamour shots.

One of the only downsides of this figure is that on either side of her body are seam lines which are visible only at close range. They run up the side of her torso, around the sides of her breasts, and up to the armbands.

A more oblique view of the picture above.

The camera decided to focus on vegetation for this shot, but that’s okay. The point was to show Mercy’s pelvic musculature, which is visible here.

Not sure what Mercy’s cup size is. “Ridiculous,” maybe?

Not the best picture in the bunch, but it does show off Mercy’s caboose, cinched waist, and sidewinders.

The bikini top is actually easy to remove, but kind of a pain to re-insert between Mercy’s fingers.

